June 10, 2021

The 30th Annual Gotham Awards on Looped

Award show goes virtual for the first time
Abby Rodgers & Amy Willard
January 11, 2021 event | 5 min read

We recently had the honor of partnering with The Gotham Film and Media Institute, formerly known as the IFP, to host the 30th annual Gotham Awards on Looped. We proudly debuted our Suites technology to create a pandemic-safe event that incorporated a unique hybrid of in-person and virtual elements to kick off this year’s unusual award show season. 

Looped Suites made remote attendance possible for both nominees and guests, while presenters led the award show in-person from New York's Cipriani Wall Street. The magic of The Gothams was virtually reproduced with private viewing tables, where attendees could enjoy the anticipation and excitement of the show in real-time, live on camera with fellow guests from the comfort of their own homes. Nominees and winners were pulled from their co-viewing tables onto the main stage throughout the live program. 

A number of winners, including Miss Juneteenth’s Nicole Beharie, One Night In Miami’s Kingsley Ben-Adir and Forty-Year-Old Version's Radha Blank (a co-winner for best screenplay) appeared to be genuinely shocked by their impressive wins, though they still gracefully accepted their awards on the spot in front of a remote audience.

Simone Ledward Boseman’s acceptance speech for the Gotham Awards Tribute Prize was among the most notable of the evening, where she honored her late husband Chadwick Boseman’s legacy for his commitment to truth-telling throughout his life and career.

As our technology continues to evolve and expand, we look forward to hosting similar heartwarming events on our platform in the near future and throughout this 2021 award season. 

Nominations and winners for the 30th annual IFP Gotham Awards can be found below.

Best Feature

The Assistant

First Cow

Never Rarely Sometimes Always

Winner: Nomadland


Best Documentary

76 Days

City Hall

Our Time Machine

Winner (tie): A Thousand Cuts

Winner (tie): Time

Best International Feature



Cuties (Mignonnes)

Winner: Identifying Features

Martin Eden


Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award

Radha Blank for The Forty-Year-Old Version 

Channing Godfrey Peoples for Miss Juneteenth 

Alex Thompson for Saint Frances 

Carlo Mirabella-Davis for Swallow 

Winner: Andrew Patterson for The Vast of Night 

Best Screenplay

Bad Education, Mike Makowsky

First Cow, Jon Raymond, Kelly Reichardt

Winner (tie): The Forty-Year-Old Version, Radha Blank

Winner (tie): Fourteen, Dan Sallitt

The Vast of Night, James Montague, Craig Sanger

Best Actor

Winner: Riz Ahmed in Sound of Metal 

Chadwick Boseman in Ma Rainey's Black Bottom 

Jude Law in The Nest 

John Magaro in First Cow 

Jesse Plemons in I'm Thinking of Ending Things 

Best Actress

Winner: Nicole Beharie in Miss Juneteenth 

Jessie Buckley in I'm Thinking of Ending Things

Yuh-Jung Youn in Minari 

Carrie Coon in The Nest 

Frances McDormand in Nomadland 

Breakthrough Actor

Jasmine Batchelor in The Surrogate 

Winner: Kingsley Ben-Adir in One Night in Miami

Sidney Flanigan in Never Rarely Sometimes Always 

Orion Lee in First Cow 

Kelly O'Sullivan in Saint Frances 

Breakthrough Series — Long Format (over 40 minutes)

The Great

Immigration Nation



Winner: Watchmen

Breakthrough Series — Short Format (under 40 minutes)



Winner: I May Destroy You

Taste the Nation

Work in Progress


This year’s Tributes are as follows:

Actor Tribute: Chadwick Boseman

Actress Tribute: Viola Davis

Director Tribute: Steven McQueen

Industry Tribute: Ryan Murphy

Ensemble Tribute: The Trial Of The Chicago 7

Made In NY Award: Jeffrey Wright


Latest posts


Follow Us